top of page

Announcing the Ted Yates and Board of Governors Awards 2022 Recipients

By: Capital Emmys Staff

Ted Yates Award

Ted Yates was a NBC News producer who traveled the world on assignment. Killed in the practice of his profession, he is remembered for his achievements in journalism.

This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding professional and personal qualities in their contribution to the National Capital Chesapeake Bay region's television news and public affairs.

This year, the award will be presented posthumously to Stan Melton formerly with ABC7-WJLA and the Washington Post in Washington, DC. Printable press release.

Board of Governors Award

This award reaches beyond those usually awarded for television news and production. The Board of Governors Award recognizes achievements by individuals, organizations, or companies in community service or other worthwhile endeavors within the National Capital Chesapeake Bay’s region. Historically, the Board of Governors Award is given for truly outstanding achievement and unique accomplishment of some duration and durability.

This year, the award will be presented to NBC4/WRC-TV for the station’s commitment to solid journalism and strong community engagement for 75 years. Printable press release.

Both of these awards will be presented at the 64th Emmy® Awards on Saturday, June 25 at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center in Bethesda, Maryland.


bottom of page