top of page



NATAS - Capital Emmy Awards Image

Everyone in our profession understands the importance of an Emmy® Award. It is the “gold-standard” in the television profession across all media platforms. It speaks volumes about your work and your place in the television industry.

The Capital Emmy Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recognizes outstanding individual achievement in the region by conferring annual awards of merit.

Like all NATAS Chapters, as well as our National Academy, The Capital Emmys are awarded on an annual basis. It’s been happening every year for more than six decades.

If you would like to purchase a Commemorative Emmy or a Recognition Award please click here for instructions on how to place an order.

Nominations will be announced in mid-May.


The 66th Capital Emmy Awards will be held June 22nd at Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center! 


Every December, we release our “Call for Entries.” Capital Emmys are awarded in over 140 categories and sub-categories. Each year we receive well over a thousand entries.

Each entry is thoroughly reviewed by the Awards committee before judging takes place. This is to make sure each entry is in the correct category and in accordance with the rules and guidelines. The entries are then judged by television professionals in other NATAS Chapters across the country. No one from our Chapter judges any Capital Emmy Awards entries.

Capital Emmys celebrate excellence in television with the announcement of the nominations in May and the awarding of statuettes in June.

National Capital Emmy Awards Image


We partner with various NATAS Chapters across the country to make the process work.

We judge their Emmy entries and they judge ours!

Want to be an Emmy judge? Great! We work with multiple Chapters across the country

and always need top notch judges. Our Judging Coordinator Lisa Haynes will set you up.


Contact Lisa





In the meantime, here's a great little video to show how your Emmy entries are handled and judged after submission. 

NATAS - National Capital Emmy Awards image

The Board of Governors Award is one of the most prestigious and cherished in our Academy. It also has the highest bar in that any nominee requires a nearly unanimous vote by the Capital Emmy Board before receiving this honor.

It reaches far beyond those usually awarded for television news and production.


The Board of Governors Award recognizes achievements by individuals, organizations, or companies in community service or other worthwhile endeavors within the National Capital Chesapeake Bay’s region. 

Historically, the Board of Governors Award is given for truly outstanding achievement and unique accomplishment of some duration and durability. 


  • Jim Lehrer, PBS NewsHour

  • Brian Lamb, CSpan

  • Jayne Miller, Investigative Reporter, WBAL-20TV

  • Andrea Roane Skehan, Morning New Anchor, WUSA 9

  • Jim Vance, Anchor News4 at 6 and 11, WRC/NBC4

  • WETA

  • MPT

  • Washington Week with Gwen Ifill & National Journal

  • Sharon Percy Rockefeller

  • Joe Beninati, NBC Sports Washington

  • Ted Yates, NBC Documentary Producer


Ted Yates was a documentary producer for NBC News. He worked on some of the biggest stories in the 60’s with some of the biggest names in television news. Mike Wallace and David Brinkley to name a few.

Yates was based in Washington, but he is best known for his work overseas in some of the most dangerous places in the world at that time. Places like Vietnam, Laos, Thailand and the Middle East.

In 1967, Yates was killed by gunfire while covering the Six Day War in the Middle East. He was 36 years old at the time.

Ted Yates was among the most honored and respected of television's news documentary filmmakers. He was known as a tenacious reporter and producer who had produced seminal documentary films for NBC in the 1960s. He was a pioneer in television documentary, with an intimate understanding of the medium's visual power. During a tribute broadcast following his death, his colleagues described him as "not a daredevil but a dedicated professional."

Shortly after his death, The Capital Emmy Chapter created an annual award in his name.

The Ted Yates Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding professional and personal qualities in their contribution to the National Capital Chesapeake Bay region's television news and public affairs.


We think of it as our “Profile in Courage” Award. 

NATAS - National Capital Emmy Awards Image


Legendary names such as Jim Vance, Gordon Peterson, Maureen Bunyan, Doreen Gentzler and Paul Berry. Some of our more notable honorees include: 

  • Ron Leidelmeyer, a photographer for WRC injured during the Olympic Park bombing during the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

  • Kristen Berset, of WUSA9 who is a two time cancer survivor.

  • Alison Parker and Adam Ward (Posthumously) , both of WDBJ in Roanoke. Alison and Adam were senselessly shot and killed by a disgruntled employee during a morning live shot in 2015.


The Gold and Silver Circles are often referred to as The Academy’s “Hall of Fame.” It is our way of paying tribute to those who have given so much to our profession over the course of a lifetime.

National Capital Emmy Awards Image

The National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Gold & Silver Circles are societies honoring individuals who have made significant contributions to the broadcast or cable industry either in a performing, creative, technical, or administrative role

  • The Gold Circle honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the broadcast or cable industry for 50 years or more. 

  • The Silver Circle honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the broadcast or cable industry for 25 years or more. 


The 62nd Emmy® Awards were presented on August 8, 2020.
To watch the archived video of the show, get a full list of the nominees and recipients,
and purchase photos from the evening please click here.

A complete list of our past Emmy® nominees and recipients can be found in our Emmy® Awards Archive 

bottom of page