top of page

2024 Ted Yates and Board of Governors Awards Recipients - Denise Koch and John Begeny (posthumously)

Updated: Jun 24

Ted Yates Award

Ted Yates was a NBC News producer who traveled the world on assignment. Killed in the practice of his profession, he is remembered for his achievements in journalism.

This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding professional and personal qualities in their contribution to the National Capital Chesapeake Bay region's television news and public affairs.

This year, the award was presented posthumously to John Begeny, WETA Executive Director, On-air Fundraiser, & Co-Host, “If You Lived Here.” Printable press release.

Board of Governors Award

This award reaches beyond those usually awarded for television news and production. The Board of Governors Award recognizes achievements by individuals, organizations, or companies in community service or other worthwhile endeavors within the National Capital Chesapeake Bay’s region. Historically, the Board of Governors Award is given for truly outstanding achievement and unique accomplishment of some duration and durability.

The iconic news anchor Denise Koch, WJZ-TV, recieved this year's Board of Governors Award. Printable press release.

Both of these awards will be presented at the 66th Emmy® Awards on Saturday, June 22 at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center in Bethesda, Maryland.



bottom of page