Outstanding Achievement in Student Production

NATAS-NCCB sponsors special awards for excellence in student production for news or programs, in a program or segment produced and executed by students at a university, college, high school, or technical/vocational school in the NCCB region. This year, the pool of applicants was extremely diverse. In total, there were 92 entries in 27 categories from students in DC, Maryland, and Virginia. Click here for the full Press Release.

Congratulations to our 2019 Student Production Award Winners!

Thank you to everyone who tuned into our Facebook announcement May 15th to hear our Educational Outreach Committee Chair, Aaron Gilchrist, read the  Student Production Awards recipients.


VCU InSight Newscast
Virginia Commonwealth University
Katrina Tilbury

News: General Assignment – Serious News
D.C. Ice Rink
American University
Katrina Kincade

News: General Assignment – Light News
Ashes on the Go
American University
Emma Galasso

KNITTING SENIOR: 80-year-old crochets thousands of newborn caps
University of Maryland
Amy Jennings

Short Form – Non-Fiction
Daily Crisis Farm
University of Maryland
Heather Kim, Alicia Cherem

Long Form – Fiction
Fly Away Kate
James Madison University, School of Media Arts and Design
Devin Donis, Amir Shahbazi, Anna Turner, Sophie Lyle

Long Form – Non-Fiction
All The Rage
The Documentary Center, George Washington University
Dana El-Issa, Abdelhafid Ezzouitni, Manelle Dridi, Pablo Montalvo, Giselle Hall, Armin Haracic, Stephanie Smith

One Fall
The George Washington University
Sadie Zuch, Melissa Tumas, Chloe Owens, Yancey Burns, John Leos, Grace Simoneau, Jason Vergne

The First
George Mason University
Mohammed Saffouri, Alaa Zabara, Jon R. Mohr

Tessa Wyner: Scholarship Surprise
Virginia Tech
Keely Ledford

Three part video series: 2019 Navy Football
United States Naval Academy
Quinn Schneider

Naval Academy Summer Training
United States Naval Academy
Quinn Schneider

High School

VHSNewscastTake15 E2
Varina High School
McKayla Gantz, Kaylan Dunning, Kallie Garland, Riley Jo Smith, Taylor Daniel, Stewart Anderson, Daija Tyler, Alisa Pennix

Music Video
Varina High School, Center for Communications and Media Relations
Kaylan Dunning, Riley Jo Smith, Aanya Howard, Janae Day

Short Form – Fiction
An Unexpected State of Mind
Washington-Liberty High School
Nicole Tucker, Sydney Fisher, Emmett Brady Dunne, Vincent Paz, Mauricio Alarcon, Sydney Miller

Short Form – Non-Fiction
Bartist – Molly Busis
Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Fiona Huxley

Long Form – Fiction
Grandin Theatre Film Lab
Bryce Knick, Lainey Auwarter, Zane Farmer, Carter Schaeffer, Sophia Kelley

Long Form – Non-Fiction
Inside the Arts
Frederick Career and Technology Center
Isabella Witherell

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects
B-CC TV Animations & Graphics
Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Jan Jasinski

Baron Pride
Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Ben Moran, Jon David Gorman

Baron Pride 2019
Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Camilo Montoya

If you would like to receive email notifications about the Student Production Awards request to be added to our email list.