About Us

Cameramen with their equipmentThe National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter (NCCB) of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a non-profit, professional organization serving the Maryland, Virginia and Washington, DC television community. The NATAS Emmy® Award is the industry’s benchmark for the recognition of television excellence.

NATAS-NCCB is dedicated to advancement in the art and science of television. The Academy’s goals are to foster creative leadership in the television industry, and to encourage artistic, educational and cultural excellence and technical progress.

In addition to the Emmy® Awards, the Gold & Silver Circles were established by The National Television Academy to recognize individuals who have devoted 50 and 25 years or more, respectively, to the broadcasting and cable industry, and who have also made a significant contribution to the National Capital Chesapeake Bay region.

The National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter is also pleased to present an annual scholarship competition. The NATAS-NCCB scholarship is in honor of Betty Endicott, Washington, DC’s first woman News Director. Both full-time undergraduate and graduate students pursuing a career in communications, television or broadcast journalism are eligible to apply for scholarships which will range from $1,000 to $5,000, depending on the number of scholarships awarded. The Betty Endicott Scholarship is one of the many ways NATAS-NCCB encourages and supports college student’s interest in the television industry.

The National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter also sponsors a special award for Outstanding Achievement in Student Production for college students attending an educational institution in the NATAS-NCCB region.

How is NATAS-NCCB involved?

The National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is the chapter responsible for awarding the Emmy® to those whose work in the television industry exhibits excellence worthy of the Emmy® in the region. For more information on chapters and regions visit the National Academy’s website and navigate to the chapters section.

How Emmy® Got Her Name

According to legend, the film statue, Oscar, got its name because it looked like somebody’s uncle. Tony, the theater’s highest award, is an abbreviation of Antoinette Perry. Now it’s time for Emmy®, and for historians, here’s how Emmy® got her name.

Emmy® history goes back to the first ceremony.

The TV Academy’s constitution empowers it to “recognize outstanding achievement in the television industry be conferring annual awards of merit as an incentive for achievement within the industry.” In 1948, Charles Brown, then president of the young organization, named a committee to select award winners for the year. He also asked for suggestions on a symbol and what it should be called. Some thought “Iconoscope” (for large orthicon tube) would be an impressive title, but it was pointed that it would be shortened for “Ike,” a name reserved for Dwight Eisenhower.

Another television favorite was “Tilly” (for television). But in the end, Emmy®, a derivative for Immy (a nickname for the image orthicon tube) was chosen. The name was suggested by pioneer television engineer, Harry Lubcke (president of the Academy in 1949-50).

Once the name had been selected, the next chore was the symbol. One hundred-and eighteen sketches were submitted to the committee and when candidates were cut to only two, designer Louis McManus presented an entry and the committee knew it had found its Emmy®.

On January 25, 1949, the first annual TV Awards were presented at the Hollywood Athletic Club with Walter O’Keefe as host. Of the six awards presented that evening, one went to McManus as a special tribute.

As McManus was called to the head table, he was told, “Louis here she is…our baby. She’ll be here long after we’re gone.” McManus was then presented with a gold, lifetime membership card – and an Emmy®.